G. G. Strock started the politically independent King City Chronicle in April 1881. He had gained newspaper experience from his time working on the St. Joseph Gazette. By 1893, the paper had changed hands to L. T. Moulton. He published the paper until September 30, 1927 when he retired from the newspaper business and sold the paper to Tracy D. Stahlman and Townsend Godsey. Stahlman soon took full control of the paper with his wife and they published until January 31, 1947 when they retired and sold their paper to the Tri-County News which is still in publication today.
Search by Date
Enter in YYYY-MM or YYYY-MM-DD format
Browse the Collection