The premier Republican paper of the town of Albany, the Albany Capital, began in 1890 by the newspaper duo J.A. Davidson and J.A. Fair. In 1903, the paper was sold to Asa W. Butler while Fair went on to explore “an unexpected opportunity to go into a larger and better field.” Butler had previously bought the Darlington Record from his brother and once he had the Capital he decided to combine his two papers in 1907. Butler ran the paper successfully for the next 27 years, selling it to Joe Shoop and his wife Margaret in 1930.
They ran the Capital for the next 19 years, having to sell the paper in 1949 due to the illness of Joseph Shoop. He passed away around a year later. They sold the paper to Glenn Kehr, who had been an editor for the Daily Sikeston Standard, and Jack Stapelton, who owned the Stanberry Headlight. This duo ran the Albany Capital until 1957 when they and the publishers of the Albany Ledger decided to merge the papers due to the rising costs of managing and publishing a weekly paper. The merged papers ran under the name of the Albany Ledger and was published until 1989.
Search by Date
Enter in YYYY-MM or YYYY-MM-DD format
Browse the Collection